Government Through Traditional Perspective In Ileogbo

Olu of Ileogbo

Ileogbo’s political diary reveals traditional authority or rulership as a historical relic of antiquity heritage. Expectedly, our traditional rulers are closely linked with the grassroots and so understand the problems of our people intimately. As Samuel Johnson narrated it in his book (History of Yoruba P:50),

The system of Yoruba proper is an absolute monarchy; the king is more dreaded than even the gods. The office is hereditary in the same family, but not necessarily from father to son. The king is usually selected by a body of noblemen known as the Oyo Mesi, the seven principal councillors of state.

Traditionally, in antiquity, the king (Oba) is the centre of command that presides over the proceedings of traditional chiefs and is duly assisted by the Oosa, the second in command. The Baale of each compound unit administered the compound, and only tricky cases got to the king.

Modern Government

As the traditional councils continue discharging their responsibilities, the current government is also nearer to the people. The seat of political office structure was closer in 1981 when they created the Iwo East Local Government. It united the four principal towns of Ileogba, Olupona, Kuta, and Oke Osun. Throughout the two-cast local government, the three (3) chairmen that governed the local government were from Oluponna. Mr Orisaleye Adebayo was the pioneer chairman of the Iwo East Local Government. Hon. Akanni Saliu, now Basorun of Oluponna, and Dr BA Adigun ruled after him in succession. During the Iwo East administration, Chief Adediji Okunlade and Mr Somuc Ola (Success Photo) were supervisors.

The military incursion of 1984 led to the scrapping of the local government, as it used to be the practice whenever there was a coup de tat. Then, there were many political parties in Lleogbo, as people had not learnt to be united under one political authority. Nafiu R.A (1997.27) notes that political parties such as Action Group (A.G.), Nigeria National Democratic Party (N.N.D.P.), National Congress of Nigeria and Cameroon (N.C.N.C.), and Northem People Congress (N.P.C.) thrived in the town at the early times of political struggle.

As there were changes and modifications to political parties at the federal level, so too were the cases of local councils. We had the Unity Party of Nigeria (UPN), the National Party of Nigeria (NPN), the Great Nigeria People’s Party (G.N.P.P.), the Nigeria People’s Party (NPP) and the People’s Redemption Party (P.R.P.). The town was not usually peaceful then, whenever it was time for a change in power. Many houses were burned during this early political era, with valuable properties destroyed. Arson was the order of the day. The late Olanipekun’s place was good to this effect reference.

The military regime was known for tranquillity in the town. Fortunately, in May 1989, they created Ayedire Local Government along the former Iwo East Local Government line. The headquarters is in Leogbo. The first chairman was from Kuta. His name was Mr. Ademola Babalola.

We that seven (7) councillors started the administration of Ayedire Local Government. Some of them were: Dr Pade Aderibigbe, Mr Opawumi, Mr Ogundare, Mr Muibi Ajani, Mr Ademola Babalola, and Lawyer Femi Kehinde.

The First Executive Chairman of the Local Government was a native of Herbo. His name was Mr Adedokun Babalolatros Ajibesin’s Compound. He won the election under the Social Democratic Party (SDP) and managed the local government between 1991 and 1993. Mr M.I.R.A. Asafa was the Secretary while Mr A.O. Adekugbe was the supervisor for Health. Hon. Hon succeeded Adedokun Babalola. Adetunji Owonikoko from Oluponna. Hon. Adetoun Owonikoko got the mantle under the Zero Party and ruled between 1994 and 1997.

Dr Laide Okunola was the executive chairman of Ayedi Local Government between 1997 and 1998. He secured the mandate under N.C.P.N. The local government legislators during Dr Lamidi’s regime were Hon. Alli Adewale Adenitan for Leogbo ward one and Hon Muniru Opakunle for lleogbo ward two. Hon. Akipojoye Akinwo represented lleogbo ward three, Hon. Alabi Israel represented lleogbo ward four, Hon. Wakeel Ajayi represented Kuta ward, and Hon. Olawuyi Alao Akinegbe represented Kuta ward two, while Hon. Abe Odetola and Hon. Nurudeen Adeyemi represented Oluponna wards one and two, respectively.

Hon. Wakeel Aleem Eniola represented Oke-Osun. However, his administration was truncated by political upheave following the then military Head of State, Gen. San Abacha. This development led to the appointment of one Mr Olatunji as the sole administrator in 1998.

Alhaji Yinusa Amobi from Kuta was elected as the Executive Chairman of the Local Government under the platform of the Alliance for Democracy between 1999 and 2002. From June 1, 2002, to May 1, 2003, the Hon. Opakanmi Johnson was appointed the chairman of the Transition Committee of Ayedire Local Government. Dr Diran Adigun of Oluponna succeeded him. Dr Diran Adigun secured the mandate under the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) platform and administered the local government between 2004 and 2007.

From 2007 to January 10, 2008, Hon Musa Bilau was appointed as the caretaker chairman and ruled the local council. He was succeeded by Engineer Toye Ogungboyega from Ileogbo in 2008 and administered the local government till 2010. At the local level, Hon. Gbenga Ogunkanmi was appointed as the Executive Secretary of Ayedire Local Government when there was a change in government at the state level from a PDP government to an ACN-led government.

The Local Government is divided into ten (10) wards shared by the four hosting communities: lleogbo, Kuta, Oluponna, and Oke-Osun. Therefore, they gave it four (4) out of ten. Kutu has two wards, Oluponna has three, and one ward for Oke-Osun. The four councillors from lleogbo from 1991 to 1993 were: Hon. Salawu forward 1, Hon. Rasidi Ojo ahead 11, Hon. Musa Bilawu for ward 111, and Hon. Ismail for IV.

Ayedire, The local government, was represented at the Osun State House of Assembly by Hon. M.O. Akintola. The active participation of lleogbo indigenes and their educational qualifications triggered adequate representation in critical positions.

Mr Late M.A Adedigba of Kanmo’s compound, Member of the Western Regional House of Assembly (1960-1964); Late Hon. N.O Lanipekun was a Member of the Western State House of Assembly (1965); Late Hon. A.O Ogunkanmi (a.k.a. Apesin), Member of the Oyo State House of Assembly (1979-1983); Hon. J.O Opakanmi, Member of the State-Federal House of Representatives

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Back to top button