The Making Of Ileogbo Stool

The Making Of Ileogbo Stool

On Ileogbo stool, people could trace the history of the throne of Ileogbo to the time when Prince Lakale first settled at Atokejoye. After the demise of Prince Lakale, his children and grandchildren reigned in succession. Okunsinde Olakunbe Latoyo Akinyelu.

Ileogbo Stool

1. Osungbayibi – Osungbayibi was the last Baale at Ahoro. He was mortally wounded during the Fulani war and died at Kotoba due to the injury sustained. The following grandchildren/great-grandchildren have ruled the present site of the Ileogbo kingdom in succession;

2. Kuseela– He was the firstborn of Okusinde. He was very young when his grandfather (Olakale) died.

3. Oyedare Ladimokun – This is part of the present Akinmoyero family. Odudapo- He was from the lineage of the present Osinkun Ruling House. He died while observing the traditional royal confinement. Odudapo was a close friend of Basorun Ogunmola of Ibadan. They reported that Ogunmola visited Odudapo on his way to the expedition. He also visited Ileogbo while coming from the war, but then, he arrived when Odudapo was buried, Ogunmola wept bitterly. It learnt that Ogunmola asked for the children of Odudapo, but they were too young.

4. Oyeyemi – To compensate for the untimely death of Odudapo, his younger brother, Prince Oyeyemi, was asked to succeed him. Idown Arowo-Okun-Joye. He was from the Olodo/Onijayi 1 and 2 ruling house. The present Olu of Ileogbo Kingdom, HRM Oba Habeeb Adetoyese Agbaje II, is also from this lineage.

5. Akinmoyero – He was from the present Akinmoyero Ruling House Aderibigbe. He was from Prince Olujobs and became Baale on December 29, 1904, after the death of Akimsoyero Aderibigbe reigned for 50 years and died on February 17, 1954, Daniel Akinrinoye. He was from the present Osinkun Ruling House. He became Baale in 1960 and died in 1968

Oba Ali Oladipupo Adeleye emerged from the present Akinmoyero Ruling House. He was the first king to wear the beaded crown in 1995. He was on the throne from 1969 to 2002. The stool was vacant between 2002 and 2004

Oba Musa Adisa Akintomide Aroyehun (1) ascended the throne on June 9, 2004. He was from the present Idiape, Olaya, Alapola/Lasisoye/Amunikun Ruling House and joined his ancestors on the 2″ June 2011.

Oba Habeeb Adetoyese Agbaje Arowo-okun-Joye II. He is from the present Olodo/Onijayi 1& 2 Ruling House. He was installed on December 9, 2011, and presented with the Staff of Office on March 3, 2012. He is the current Olu of Ileogbo Kingdom.


Also Read: Chieftaincy Titles in Ileogbo

The Ruling Houses in Ileogbo


Following the declarations made in respect to the Baale of lleogbo under Section 3 of the Western Region Appointment and Recognition of the Chiefs Law No. 1 of 1955, there are five ruling houses, Akinmoyero, Osinkun, Aderibigbe, Olodo/Onijayi 1 & 2, Idiape/Oloya/Alapola and Lasisoye. The order of rotation then was; (1) Akinmoyero (2) Osinkun. (3) Aderibigbe. (4) Idiape, Oloya, Alapola and Lasisoye. (5) Olodo, Onijayi 1 & 2, as contained in the Declaration of March 29, 1957.

Order of Rotation

The current order of rotation as contained in the Declaration made under section 4(2) of the Chiefs Law, Cap 19 as amended by the Amendment Edict No.16 of 1975 of the Customary Law is as follows:

Osinkun- The lineage of Latoyo. Akinmoyero- The lineage of Kuseela

Idiape/Oloya Alapola and Lasisoye- The lineage of Alantila Olodo/Onijayi 1 & 2 is the lineage of Olakumbe.

Aderibigbe is the lineage of Olujobi, sent copies of the new rotation order to the leaders of the five ruling houses on December 13, 1977.

The Kingmakers

Every Yoruba town, village, and community has Oba or Baale, as the case may be, selected from Royal lineages or homes when the stool becomes vacant either by death or through removal, which is rare. The kingmakers select the new king in consultation with the Ifa oracle. In lleogbo, the role of selecting king is saddled with some carefully selected chiefs with proper consultation with an oracle known as Ifa Olokun. The assemblies of those Chiefs who pronounce the king are popularly called Afobaje (King Makers) by core Yorubas.

The King Makers (Afobaje) in Ileogbo are: Oosa, Balogun, Jagun, Olukotun, Odofin, Aro, Baase, Ogala, Baadi, Ekerin, Ekarun, Asipa and Akogun. Formerly, the kingmakers were eleven. Asipa and Akogun were later added to make them thirteen.

Method of Nomination

When the throne falls vacant, the kingmakers will call upon the head of the entitled ruling house for a meeting at which they shall nominate a candidate for presentation to the kingmakers. After the screening processes, the entitled ruling house selects and presents a candidate to the Oosa, who in turn presents him to the King Maker for the crowning process.

If two or more candidates are put forward, the Oosa presents them to the King Makers, who will decide the most suitable candidate by majority vote.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Back to top button